ART IN THE CITY 艺术都市

Subscription Registration 中文

BLAST!

FOR THE DIGITAL GENERATION

BLAST! 2017 is coming! By expanding the open call to everyone, the special project provides a larger platform for digital media creativity - consciously reaching out to professionals beyond the field of art. In the age of the Internet, everyone has the necessary tools to realize quality content. The Open Call will explore how this intersection between accessibility and artistic intention affects contemporary digital art in Asia.

BLAST! is disseminated through an array of multidisciplinary platforms and pertinent social media channels. BLAST! Visions seeks cutting-edge moving image, animation, cartoon, and computer-generated video, capable of cultivating interactivity and more. BLAST! Sounds explores new music, including: acoustic, electronic, experimental, noise, pop, rock, found or environmental—anything goes.

BLAST! 2016 was presented at chi K11 art museum, M50 Creative Park, MoCA Pavilion, and alternative venues across Shanghai, attracting more than 100,000 visitors. After last year’s success,

BLAST! 2017 is taking place from September 15 to October 8 at Hima Art Space. The open call is devoted to creating a more compressive stage for audiences to discover the emerging multi-media talents of creators in the 21st century. BLAST! 2017 will select one winner from this year’s 16 finalists. The winning artist will receive a 3-day FUMO Motion Design Master Class (September 15 to September 17) and a round-trip to Shanghai worth 20,000 RMB. FUMO was created from the need for advanced education in Motion Design in China. FUMO is comprised of top designers from the motion design industry. They help professional designers and students elevate their conceptual understanding and skills to an international level, through lecture, demonstrations, exercises, hands-on practice, and one-to-one portfolio reviews.

A jury of professionals from the fields of digital and contemporary art will select this year’s finalists. BLAST! 2017 will be chaired by Davide Quadrio – Curator and Arthub Founder; Massimo Torrigiani – Curator and Fantom Edition Founder; Christopher Doyle –Filmmaker and Shaway Yeh – Group Style Editorial Director, Modern Media. Jury Members include: aaajiao (aka. Xu Wenkai)– New Media Artist; Gao Jiafeng – Musician and Music Producer; Fito Segrera– Head of Research and Creation of CAC; Cao Dan – Editorial Director of LEAP; Roberto Gianstefani – Founder and Director of FLATMIND; Maria Taniguchi – Artist; Colin Chinnery – Curator and Artist; Guo Hongwei – Artist; Wu Junyong ­– Artist; You Mi ­– Curator and Researcher; N+N Corsino – Choreographers and Researchers; Martino Coffa – Recipient.cc Founder; Antonio Scoccimarro ­– Associate Editor of Mousse; Zhu Xiaowen – Media Artist; Julian F. Krueger –Executive Creative Director of The Marmalade ; Matthias Winckelmann – 3D and Animation Designer.

In addition to the physical locations, this year’s video winners will be featured on NOWNESS and Arthub’s Screening Program - online platforms that provide temporary access to video works outside of physical spaces.

BLAST! is organized by Art In The City in collaboration with Arthub, Flatmind and Hima Art Space.
For more informaiton of BLAST!, please visit: blast.artinthecity.cn
 

BLAST! 2017 Entry Requirements


  • Applicants must be 18 y.o. at the date of submission or older;
  • Applicants must possess the copyright ownership for any and all submissions, granting BLAST! full access to copy and play selected works as they so choose;
  • For submissions to be accepted applicants must complete and sign the statement at: http://blast.artinthecity.cn;
  • Submissions must be sent with the signed statement to: blast.artinthecity@qq.com;
  • One entry (i.e. file upload) per applicant is allowed;
  • Deadline for entries is: July 31st, 2017.


Technical Requirements 

 

BLAST! Visions

Participants are asked to submit 1 HD video at a maximum length of 30 seconds, a 16:9 ratio, with no subject restriction.

A) Video submissions may be no longer than 30 seconds; 

B) Submissions must be in 16:9 HD format.

 

BLAST! Sounds

Participants are asked to submit 1 audio file with a minimum length of 30 seconds and a maximum length of 3 minutes, with no content restrictions.

A) Audio submissions must be between 30 seconds to 3 minutes long; 

B) Submissions should be sent in a standard file format, including: mp3, wma, aac, or ogg.

 

Please note that if selected, applicants will be asked to send the FLAC (uncompressed) versions of their sound pieces.

 

2016 BLAST! VISION winning artworks

In2016, the jury of professionals from the fields digital and contemporary art that selected this year’s finalists of BLAST! Visions was chaired by Davide Quadrio – Curator and Arthub Founder and composed by aaajiao (XuWenkai) – New media artist; Lisa Garrison – Director of the Lumen Prize Exhibition; Roberto Gianstefani – Flatmind Co-Founder; Miltos Manetas – Painter, conceptual artist and theorist; Shaway Yeh – Modern Media Group Style Editorial Director; and Ying Shao – NOWNESS China Manager.For the premiere iteration of BLAST! Sounds2016  the jury was chaired by Massimo Torrigiani – Curator and editor, and composed by Ho Tzu Nyen – Artist, filmmaker and writer; Wok the Rock (WotoWibowo) – Artist, curator and cultural activist; Samson Young – Artist and composer; and Zhou Zihan – Performance/audiovisual artist.

 

The winners of the 2016 edition of BLAST! Visions were: Lin Wanshan, Wang Huagang, Chen Xi , Andrew Stooke (UK), Lu Su, Wei Qi and Wang Shiying, Weng Xuyan, Tiger Chengliang Cai. The winners of the 2016 edition of BLAST! Sounds were: Ma Shengzhe, Andrew Stooke (UK), Li Huihui , Huang Cheng, Zhao Shinuan, Riar Rizaldi (Indonesia), Johanes M.H. Handjono (Indonesia), Xinniang.

ART IN THE CITY 艺术都市

资讯订阅 注册 English

BLAST!

数码一代

2017年BLAST! 作品征集开始了!BLAST旨在为热衷数码媒体创意人才提供平台,招募的对象不局限于艺术家与专业人士,而是向所有人开放。当今网络媒体时代,每个人都掌握了实现高质量内容的工具和技能,这个征集将展现可达性和艺术动机间的碰撞是如何影响当代数码艺术的。

BLAST! 通过多个平台与社交媒体进行公开作品征集。BLAST! 视觉探寻有关移动影像、动画、卡通、电脑合成视频、互动性项目的视觉艺术作品。BLAST! 声音探寻新声音,包括:原声、电子乐、试验音乐、噪音、流行乐、声音采样及环境音等任何形式的声音作品。

去年,BLAST! 最终入围的16部视觉与声音作品在chi K11美术馆、M50创意园区、上海当代艺术馆艺术亭台等7个辐射全城的上海地标式场所进行了展出,共吸引十万计人次观展,反响非凡。

今年,入选的优秀作品将在2017年9月15日-2017年10月8日喜玛空间集中展出。此外,为了能够更好地发现创意势力,为其提供更大的释放空间,2017 BLAST! 将从16部入围作品中遴选出一位获奖艺术家。获奖艺术家奖可享有总价值20000元的FUMO动态影像设计国际大师班3天课程(2017年9月15日-9月17日)和上海之旅。FUMO蔚来动影是针对中国影像设计行业量身定制的国际大师班培训课程。FUMO动态影像设计国际大师班邀请业界顶级设计师,通过授课、演示、练习、实践和一对一的作品集辅导,帮助专业设计师及在校生将他们的设计理念与技能提升到全新的国际高度。

来自数字艺术与当代艺术领域的专家评审团将负责选出最终的优胜者。BLAST! 视觉与声音将由来自 Arthub 创始人与策展人乐大豆先生、电影人杜可风先生、策展人Massimo Torrigiani先生、现代传播集团时尚编辑总监叶晓薇女士担任评委会主席。并邀请到了aaajiao 徐文恺(新媒体艺术家)、曹丹(《艺术界》执行出版人与编辑总监)、Martino Coffa(Recipient.cc 创始人与总监)、N+N Corsino(舞蹈编导与研究者)、高嘉丰(音乐人与制作人)、Roberto Gianstefani(Flatmind 创始人与总监)、谷口玛利亚(艺术家)、郭鸿蔚(艺术家)、Julian F. Krueger (The Marmalade执行创意总监)、李佳桓(作者、译者与酷儿活动家)、秦思源(艺术家与策展人)、Antonio Scoccimarro(Mousse杂志编辑)、Fito Segrera(新时线媒体艺术中心研究/创造部主任)、Matthias Winckelmann(ManvsMachine 设计总监与3D视觉艺术家)、吴俊勇(艺术家)、由宓(策展人与研究员)、朱晓闻(媒体艺术家)共同担任评委。
 

今年将选出8部获胜的视觉组作品和8部声音组作品,全部获胜作品将在艺术都市主题盛会上进行首展,随后将在上海的其他展览空间进行展示。此外获胜作品亦将在 NOWNESS 和 Arthub 的官网上进行在线播映,作为物理空间以外的线上展示平台。

 

BLAST!由艺术都市主办,与Arthub、Flatmind和喜玛空间倾力合作。

如需获取更多信息,请登陆BLAST!官网:blast.artinthecity.cn


参赛资格

 

  • 至提交日期为止,申请人必须年满18周岁;
  • 参赛者必须享有所提交作品的版权。BLAST! 项目享有对参赛作品的演绎、播放权;
  • 申请人须完整填写声明并签字(详情请见http://blast.artinthecity.cn);
  • 请将作品或作品下载链接以及声明发送至:blast.artinthecity@qq.com;
  • 每位/组申请人限提交一个作品;
  • 作品提交截止日期:2017年7月31日


参赛作品要求

 

BLAST! 视觉

参赛者需提交1件高清视频作品,要求长度不超过30秒,16:9高清版本,不限制作品题材(叙事或抽象作品皆可)。

A) 递交的视频不可超过30秒;

B) 递交的视频必须是16:9的高清版本

 

BLAST! 声音

参赛者提交的音频文件长度不可超过3分钟。

A) 递交的作品长度在30秒至3分钟之间;

B) 递交的文件格式需以标准格式,包括mp3, wma, aac, 或 ogg;

一旦作品被选中,选手需提供 FLAC 格式的无损音频格式文件。 


 

2016年 BLAST! 视觉单元入围作品

2016年BLAST! 视觉由来自 Arthub 的创始人与策展人乐大豆先生担任评委会主席,并邀请到了aaajiao 徐文恺(新媒体艺术家)、Lisa Garrison(Luman Prize展览总监)Roberto Gianstefani(Flatmind 联合创始人)、Miltos Manetas (画家、观念艺术家、艺术理论家)、邵影(NOWNESS 中国负责人)、以及叶晓薇(现代传播集团时尚编辑总监)共同担任评委。BLAST! 声音由策展人及编辑 Massimo Torrigiani 担任评委会主席,并邀请到了何子彦(艺术家、电影人、作家)、Wok the Rock (即 Woto Wibowo, 艺术家、策展人、文化活动家)、杨嘉辉(艺术家、作曲家)以及周子涵(行为艺术家、声音视觉艺术家)共同担任评委。

 

2016年BLAST!视觉单元入选艺术家为:林万山、王化刚、陈熹、Andrew Stooke 石安卓(英国)、陆苏、魏琦&王诗颖、翁旭妍、蔡承良。2016年BLAST!声音单元入选艺术家为:马晟哲、Andrew Stooke 石安卓(英国)、李慧慧、黄成、赵石暖、Riar Rizaldi(印度尼西亚)、Johanes M.H. Handjono(印度尼西亚)、XINNIANG。